Thai Omelette (Khay Jiao) Recipe – vegetarian, gluten free

Thai omelette, Kahy Jiao, is one of my favourite breakfast/lunch meals when I travel in Thailand. Normally this dish is served with chillied fish sauce but I decided to make it vegetarian…and it tastes even better! People who are not fans of fish sauce can enjoy it too.

I love traveling in the country side in Thailand. I am not a big city person so, like previous trips, I did the same this trip and went to a super quiet “locals only” beach called Cha-am and Nan Province which is surrounded by nature. After traveling 3 weeks in the Thai country side, I traveled back to Bangkok where I was overwhelmed by the variety of dishes for sale. I could not decide what to eat!!!!!

(↑ endless food vendors near BTS station, Thalat Plu, Bangkok)

After much walking in circles…I found a Thai omelette shop! Yay! My decision was made!!

They don’t cook with a lot of vegetables so I also bought a lettuce to go with my omelette. They are super simple AND very addictive. I made my recipe with lots more vegetable than the normal Thailand ones so it is healthier and tastier.

Thai Omelette (Khay Jiao) Recipe

(serves 2)

2 free range eggs – mixed

a handful of any kind of vegetables – I was away for 6 weeks so my vegetable garden was full of lovely fresh vegetables. I used kale, radish top and carrot – finely chopped

capsicum and spring onion goes well with this dish too.

a few exotic mushrooms ( I used oyster mushrooms) – sliced

4 tbsp rice bran oil or another neutral flavoured oil (do not use olive oil as it will add an olive oil fragrance)

pinch of salt

1 cup cooked rice – traditionally, jasmine rice is used but you can serve with any rice. I used sushi rice in the picture.

Dipping sauce

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp SAORI Tsuyu Sauce or SAORI Gluten Free Tsuyu Sauce

optional : coriander and chilli

NOTE: For non vegetarian option – you can add a small amount of minced pork/chicken or prawns

Recipe

1: saute vegetables and mushroom (if you are adding meat or prawn add it now) in 1 tbsp oil for few minutes. Add salt

2: take out the vegetable and mushroom and mix with eggs

3: heat up frying pan with 3 tbsp oil over high heat until oil is really hot (* you can put a drop of egg mixture and if it rises to the top, its hot enough)

4: pour the egg mixture into a frying pan all at once. Turn down to medium/high heat and cook until one side is brown

5: turn over then cook another 2 minutes.

6: serve half the omelette on rice with handful of coriander. Combine 1 tbsp lemon, 1 tbsp SAORI Tsuyu and some chopped up chilli per serving as a dipping sauce

Related Item

SAORI Tsuyu Sauce

SAORI Gluten Free Tsuyu Sauce

SAORI’s small group cooking classes in Upwey(maxim 6) ↓

About SAORI Premium Japanese Sauce
SAORI Premium Japanese Sauce : based in Victoria Australia, 100%  Natural and authentic Japanese sauces & spices. All suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

【Check SAORI’s  healthy & delicious recipes】
from blog
from home page

Leave a comment