Umami Miso Teriyaki Chicken Recipe (with vegan option)

One of our customers asked me how to make miso teriyaki beef steaks. I normally use SAORI Tsuyu Sauce + miso paste and brown sugar to make miso teriyaki sauce. Yesterday, I made SAORI Sapporo Miso Ramen Broth Base and had some left over paste so I decided to try making miso teriyaki with this paste instead. When I make my Ramen Paste, I make the non spicy ones first then I make the spicy ones. SO…I used the left-over SAORI Sapporo Kara Miso Ramen Broth Base (with chilli) this time but you can chose whichever (spicy or non spicy) you like. Whoa! My son and my husband were very impressed with this dish! It is super easy & has a amazingly high-end flavour. I used chicken breasts but if you are vegetarian/vegan, you can use fried tofu or firm tofu instead.

Umami Miso Teriyaki Chicken Recipe (with vegan option)

Ingredients (serve 2-3)

2 chicken breasts – chunky cubed OR for vegetarian/vegan option, use fried tofu or firm tofu instead

1 tbsp olive oil – if you are using tofu, use 3-4 tbsp olive oil as tofu does not contain oil

corn flour or potato flour – enough to dust chicken

3 tbsp SAORI Sapporo Kara Miso Ramen Broth Base (with chilli) OR SAORI Sapporo Miso Ramen Broth Base (not spicy)

1 tbsp traditional mirin

Recipe

1: coat chicken with corn flour

2: pan fry in oiled pan over high heat. Keep turning until both sides are golden brown (appox 15 minutes)

3: add SAORI Sapporo Kara Miso Ramen Broth Base (with chilli) and traditional mirin

4: turn down heat to low heat. Coat chicken in the sauce and keep turning them until the sauce thickens and caramelises (approx 5 minutes)

Your umami miso teriyaki chicken is now ready.

I didn’t want to waste any of the sauce left in the frying pan so I used it to make sauteed exotic mushrooms as a side dish.

What I did is… place the exotic mushrooms in the same pan and added a drizzle of my SAORI Tsuyu Sauce.

Sauteed them for few minutes.

This mushroom side dish was as good as the main!

Related Items

SAORI Sapporo Kara Miso Ramen Broth Base (with chilli)

SAORI Sapporo Miso Ramen Broth Base (non spicy)

SAORI Traditional Mirin

SAORI Tsuyu Sauce

SAORI’s small group cooking classes in Upwey, Vic (max 6) ↓

About SAORI Premium Japanese Sauce
SAORI Premium Japanese Sauce : based in Victoria Australia, 100%  Natural and authentic Japanese sauces & spices. All suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

【Check SAORI’s  healthy & delicious recipes】
from blog
from home page

Leave a comment