Gado Gado style steamed vegetables with umami ponzu peanut sauce recipe (vegetarian)

Gado Gado is a traditional Indonesian salad with a creamy peanut sauce. I like to personalise my cooking so I made the peanut sauce using my SAORI Ponzu Sauce and SAORI Japanese Rayu Chilli. It’s a fantastic side dish for this Festive Christmas season because it is super easy to make, super delicious AND super healthy! My friend, who does not like cooking, told me it will be her go to dish after we shared it together. If you don’t use eggs, it is a vegan dish as well.

Ingredients to serve 4 as a side dish – below are the ingredients I used but you can use seasonal vegetables. I used my carrots, green beans and eggs. I bought the asparagus and potatoes from a local farmers market.

3 medium sized potatoes – cubed

1 bunch asparagus – lower stems removed

1 bunch baby carrots – tops removed

3 aburaage or tofu puffs – aburaage: – slice into 3rds, tofu puffs: – halved

some green beans

4 eggs

umami ponzu gado gado sauce

4 heaped tbsp peanut butter ( I used crunchy but smooth is fine as well)

3 tbsp SAORI Ponzu Sauce

1 tbsp SAORI Japanese Rayu Chilli

1 lemon – juiced

Recipe

1: place eggs in the bottom of steamer with cold water to boil

2: place all other ingredients on the top of steamer. Place the lid of the steamer and cook for 25 minutes over high heat.

3: mean while, to make the peanut sauce, combine peanut butter, SAORI Ponzu Sauce, lemon juice and SAORI Rayu chilli and mix well

4: peel boiled eggs and quarter them

5: place all the vegetables on a big plate. Serve with gado gado sauce.

Simple steamed vegetables become WOW steamed vegetables! You must try this. Oh and it’s a great dish for BBQs as well.

Relate Items

SAORI Ponzu Sauce (sugar free/vegan)

SAORI Japanese Rayu Chilli (gluten free/vegan)

About SAORI Premium Japanese Sauce
SAORI Premium Japanese Sauce : based in Victoria Australia, 100%  Natural and authentic Japanese sauces & spices. All suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

【Check SAORI’s  healthy & delicious recipes】
from blog
from home page

Leave a comment